Tommy Mayne reelected by acclamation in Kentucky

Tommy Mayne was reelected by acclamation to the office of Chairman of the Kentucky State Legislative Board by delegates at the Board's quadrennial meeting in late September. Mayne has held the office of Chairman since the Board's inception in 1994.

Also elected at the meeting were: 1st Vice Chairman Bryan Aldridge of BLET Divison 78 (Louisville); 2nd Vice Chairman Jeremy Nelson of Division 110 (Ludlow, Ky.); and Secretary-Treasurer Daniel Maynard of Division 271 (Ashland, Ky.).

"Our State Board is lucky to have such an intelligent group of bright young engineers," Chairman Mayne said. "They will take care of our members now and in the future."

The outgoing Secretary-Treasurer, Terry Beadles, held the S-T job for the KSLB since 1994. He will retire at the end of the year. "Working together for the past 13 years, we're like brothers now," Mayne said.

BLET National President Don Hahs attended the meeting and gave delegates an update on the current round of national contract negotiations. In addition, Vice President & National Legislative Representative John Tolman discussed with delegates the upcoming November elections.

A host of elected officials also addressed the delegates, including: Representative Ben Chandler; Representative Susan Westrom; State Senator Perry Clark; Rep. Robin Webb; Rep. Howard Cornett; and Rep. Charlie Hoffman.

Rail security was a key topic for the delegates, who enjoyed a presentation by Alecia Webb-Edgington, Director of the Kentucky Office of Homeland Security. In addition, Richard Gent, a U.S. Navy Seal, put on a program showing how vulnerable the railroads were to terrorists.

Joe Lydick, a representative of the Federal Railroad Administration, was also in attendance.

Representing the Teamsters at the meeting was Tony Fiori, the IBT's State Coordinator for Kentucky. Bill Londrigan, President of the Kentucky State AFL-CIO, was also in attendance.

Brother Mayne also thanked Dick Scott, a FELA Specialist with the law firm of Yaeger, Jungbauer & Barczak, for his support.

Delegates and officers gather together after reelecting Tommy Mayne by acclamation to serve as Chairman of the Kentucky State Legislative Board. Mayne has held the position since the Board was created in 1994.



© 2006 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen