Illinois SLBC Ed Way reelected by acclamation

C. Edward Way of BLET Division 512 (Benton, Ill.) was elected by acclamation for the third time to another four-year term as Chairman of the Illinois State Legislative Board at their quadrennial meeting in Peoria on September 22.

Also elected during the meeting were: First Vice-Chairman Paul Piekarski of Division 683 (Chicago); Second Vice Chairman Don Little of Division 294 (Chicago); and Third Vice-Chairman Maurie Lehmkuhl of Division 135 (Galesburg, Ill.)

Bill Kruspe of Division 582 (Chicago), who has held the office of Secretary-Treasurer of the board for more than 20 years, was reelected.

"It is nice to be able to continue the work I have started and continue moving the board forward," Brother Way said. "By winning reelection by acclamation, I feel that I have been doing what the membership wants. And, with the executive committee that has been elected, I know that I will have all help I need to get the job done."

BLET First Vice President Ed Rodzwicz addressed the delegates, giving them an update on national contract negotiations and the upcoming IBT election. National Secretary-Treasurer Bill Walpert gave delegates a presentation on the BLET's financial situation, while Vice President Rick Radek and Vice President Steve Speagle also addressed the body. Ken Kroeger, Coordinator of the BLET Education and Training, was also in attendance at the meeting.

Steve Drassler of the Federal Railroad Administration (Region 4) and Tom Sadler of the Railroad Retirement Board were also on hand to address the delegates.

Chairman Ed Way (front row, center) with the Executive Committee of the Illinois State Legislative Board.



© 2006 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen