Iowa, Colorado elect new Legislative Board Chairmen

The Executive Board members of the Iowa State Legislative Board. Seated, from left: Jeff Kurtz, Chairman; and Janet Schultz, Secretary-Treasurer. Standing, from left: Steve Wendt, 3rd Vice Chairman; Shaun Kelley, 2nd Vice Chairman; and Chuck Hintz, 1st Vice Chairman.

BLET members in Iowa and Colorado recently elected new State Legislative Board Chairmen to direct their political and legislative affairs.

Brother Jeff A. Kurtz will serve as Legislative Board Chairman in Iowa and Brother Mike Weston will serve in Colorado.

Iowa State Legislative Board

Members of the BLET's Iowa State Legislative Board elected Jeff A. Kurtz as their new chairman at quadrennial meetings on October 13 and 14.

Chairman Kurtz is a member of BLET Division 391 (Fort Madison, Iowa).

"Jeff hit the ground on our Board with his feet running and has never stopped," former chairman Chuck Hintz said. "He will make a most excellent chairman and members will enjoy his company and wisdom."

Brother Hintz did not seek re-election for personal reasons.

"It was one of the toughest decisions I have made in my life, but I decided that my family must come first," he said.

However, Brother Hintz, a member of Division 778 (Des Moines, Iowa), will continue to serve the Board as First Vice-Chairman.

BLET National President Don Hahs thanked Chuck Hintz for his dedication to the Brotherhood.

"I appreciate him continuing to help us," President Hahs said. "We look forward to working with Brother Kurtz and the members of the Iowa State Legislative Board."

Also serving the Iowa State Legislative Board are: Secretary-Treasurer Janet L. Schultz, Division 6 (Boone, Iowa); Second Vice-Chairman Shaun Kelley, Division 642 (Creston, Iowa); and Third Vice-Chairman Steve Wendt, Division 656 (Mason City, Iowa).

During the quadrennial meetings, members discussed the upcoming Presidential election as well as a number of legislative and regulatory issues of importance to locomotive engineers and trainmen.

Colorado State Legislative Board

Members of the BLET's Colorado State Legislative Board elected new officers at their second quadrennial meeting held in Denver on September 14.

The new State Legislative Board Chairman is Mike Weston of BLET Division 186 (Denver), and the new Secretary-Treasurer is Jim Wilmesher of Division 256 (Denver).

The former Chairman, George Last of Division 940 (Denver), and the former Secretary-Treasurer, Steve Patterson of Division 256 (Denver), did not run because they are retiring from union work after years of service to the BLET and its members.

The following officers were also elected at the September 14 meeting:







Mike Weston




© 2004 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen