North Dakota State Legislative Board elects officers

BLET Legislative Representatives from across the state of North Dakota elected Mike R. Muscha by acclamation to another four-year term as Chairman of the North Dakota State Legislative Board in meetings held in Bismarck, N.D., on August 27.

Also elected during the quadrennial meeting were: R.K. Huff of Division 746 (Mandan, N.D.) as First Vice Chairman; and R.D. Albrightson of Division 695 (Minot, N.D.) as Second Vice Chairman.

Dean E. Altringer of Division 160 (Harvey, N.D.) was elected as the Secretary-Treasurer of the Board.

"I look forward to serving the Board and the members here in the State of North Dakota," said Brother Muscha, a member of BLET Division 671 (Enderlin, N.D.). "It is a great honor that I have again been chosen to represent our members, and I pledge that I will put all my effort into the job."

Delegates met with numerous visitors during the convention, including U.S. Senator Byron Dorgan (D-N.D.), State Senator Joel Heitkamp, Minority Leader Merle Boucher, and Senators April Fairfield and Dwight Cook. North Dakota State AFL-CIO President Dave Kemnitz also attended, in addition to several representatives from the International Brotherhood of Teamsters.

BLET First Vice-President E.W. Rodzwicz also attended the meeting to represent National President Don Hahs.

"The national elections this fall are a big area of focus for us right now," Brother Muscha said. "We emphasized to our delegates at the meeting the importance of getting our members out to vote in November."

Brother Muscha is also a Regional Chairman in the Legislative Department of the BLET, having won election to that position at recently concluded meetings of the National Association of State Legislative Board Chairman in Kalispell, Mont.

North Dakota State Legislative Board officers after the conclusion of their quadrennial board meeting in Bismarck, N.D., on August 27. From left: State Legislative Board Chairman Mike Muscha of Division 671 (Enderlin, N.D.); Second Vice-Chairman R.D. Albrightson of Division 695 (Minot); Secretary-Treasurer Dean E. Altringer of Division 160 (Harvey, N.D.); First Vice-Chairman Ron K. Huff of Division 746 (Mandan, N.D.); and John W. Olson of Division 69 (Grand Forks, N.D.).

From left: U.S. Senator Byron Dorgan (D-N.D.) attends the BLET's North Dakota State Legislative Board meeting with State Chairman Mike Muscha.



© 2004 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen