36th community enacts remote control safety resolution

The number of local communities enacting remote control safety resolutions grew to 36 in August. Mankato, Minn., and Saginaw, Mich., joined the growing list of communities that are asking the Federal Railroad Administration to make sure that remote control locomotives are operated in the safest manner possible.

Mankato, Minn.

On August 11, the city of Mankato, Minn., passed a resolution opposing remote control locomotives within its jurisdiction.

The effort to pass the resolution was spearheaded by BLE Division 9 (Waseca, Minn.) President D.A. Boeck. BLE Union Pacific Northern Lines General Chairman Bruce D. MacArthur commended Boeck and the rest of the members of Division 9 for their effort.

The resolution stated that the city of Mankato took action in order to ensure the safety of its citizens, and it asked that the FRA develop comprehensive regulations for the use of remote control locomotives.

Saginaw, Mich.

In August, the city of Saginaw, Mich., also adopted a safety resolution regarding the use of remote control trains within its boundaries.

The Saginaw City Council unanimously approved a resolution calling for the FRA to develop comprehensive regulations for the use of remote controlled locomotives, and that "those regulations ensure that the safety and well-being of the citizens of Saginaw will not be jeopardized by the use of such devices."

Greg Powell, Michigan State Legislative Board Chairman, thanked the members of BLE Division 304 (Saginaw), especially Local Chairman Dave Norman and Legislative Representative Don Roach. He also thanked Joe Smith, President of the Saginaw Central Labor Council; Wilmar Jones-Harm, Saginaw Mayor; Carol Cotrell, City Councilwoman; and the rest of the Saginaw City Council.

The List

In addition to Mankato and Saginaw, 24 U.S. cities have adopted similar resolutions: Baton Rouge, La.; Detroit, Mich.; Shreveport, La.; Marysville, Mich.; Boston, Mass.; Cleveland, Ohio; Pine Bluff, Ark.; North Little Rock, Ark.; Beardstown, Ill.; Bakersfield, Calif.; Woodbridge, N.J.; Belen, N.M.; Maple Heights, Ohio; Alliance, Neb.; Evansville, Ind.; Dupo, Ill.; Durand, Mich; Flat Rock, Mich.; Woodhaven, Mich; Flint, Mich.; Sparks, Nev.; Commerce, Calif.; Clinton, Iowa; and Montebello, Calif.

Also, 10 counties have passed similar remote control resolutions. They are: Douglas County, Wisc.; West Baton Rouge Parish, La.; Point Coupee Parish, La.; Cuyahoga County, Ohio; Huron County, Ohio; Erie County, Ohio; Whitley County, Ky.; Unicoi County, Tenn.; Contra Costa County, Calif.; and Knox County, Tenn.

Links at www.ble.org

For a PDF copy of the Mankato resolution, visit:


For a PDF of the Saginaw resolution, visit:



© 2003 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers