Rail Conference elects leadership

The Rail Conference of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters held its inaugural convention in Las Vegas on June 23 following the completion of BMWED and BLET national conventions earlier that week.

During the convention, delegates voted on changes to the Rail Conference bylaws, which set the groundwork for the BLET and BMWED to work together more closely, and they elected leaders for the next four years. They are:

All three officers were elected unanimously.

Also, it was announced by John Murphy, Director of the Rail Conference, that BLET National President Don Hahs has been appointed Special Advisor to General President James P. Hoffa on Rail Conference issues relating to collective bargaining.

"It is recognition by President Hoffa that rail collective bargaining is entering a critical phase and recognition of the seriousness of the issues posed by the carriers," Murphy said. "It is also a recognition of the experience of Don Hahs."

President Hahs' appointment became effective July 1.

From left: John Murphy, IBT Vice President and Director of the Rail Conference; Ed Rodzwicz, BLET First Vice President and President of the Rail Conference; Perry Gellar, BMWED National Secretary-Treasurer and Secretary-Treasurer of the Rail Conference; and Bill Walpert, BLET National Secretary-Treasurer and Vice President of the Rail Conference.



© 2006 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen