TTD votes to mobilize team of political activists

International President Edward Dubroski led the BLE delegation at the AFL-CIO Transportation Trades Department's (TTD) 10th Anniversary Convention, July 20-21 at the Capital Hilton Hotel in Washington, D.C.

Delegates to the convention agreed July 20 to mobilize a permanent force of political activists who will continue working between national elections to "promote an agenda to create jobs, improve safety and strengthen job security for millions of American transportation workers," said Transport Workers and TTD President Sonny Hall.

Speaking to the delegates July 21, Vice President Al Gore said he will make workers' issues a key part of his agenda if he is elected President.

President Dubroski sits on the TTD's Finance Committee and is the chairman of the Legislative Activist Committee. He addressed the convention delegates in his capacity as chairman.

In addition to Vice President Gore, other distinguished political and labor leaders who addressed the 270 TTD delegates included:

John Sweeney, AFL-CIO President; Richard Trumka, AFL-CIO Secretary-Treasurer; James Hoffa, Teamsters President and Chairman of the Convention Host Committee; Sonny Hall, TTD President; Tom Daschle (D-SD), Senate Minority Leader; Rep. Don Young (R-AK); Richard Gephardt (D-MO), House Minority Leader; Rodney Slater, Secretary of Transportation; and Rep. James Oberstar (D-MN), recipient of the TTD's "10th Anniversary Congressional Award."

The theme of the convention, "A Bold Voice - A Decade of Action," reflects transportation labor's strong reach into the American economy and marks the TTD's 10th year of service.

Through the TTD, the transportation arm of the 13 million member AFL-CIO, working families represented by the department's 30 member unions have a strong, national voice in Washington.

In his role as Chairman of the TTD Legislative Activist Committee, BLE International President Edward Dubroski addresses the 270 delegates attending the TTD's 10th anniversary convention.



2000 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers