BLET to co-host 11th Annual Transportation Summit

National President Ed Rodzwicz announced that the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen will be a National Co-Host Organization for the 11th Annual Transportation Summit, August 12-15, in Irving Texas.

The Summit will feature the most prestigious group of state, national and international dignitaries ever assembled for a transportation conference. This unique and unparalleled opportunity facilitates communication, education and discussion necessary to lead our nation into the future. This year, more than 1,100 federal and state legislators, municipal officials, industry leaders and other influential transportation advocates are anticipated to attend the 11th Annual Transportation Summit.

"Co-hosting this event will increase the BLET's name recognition and reputation throughout the transportation industry," said BLET National President Ed Rodzwicz.

This year's Annual Transportation Summit will feature the best and brightest speakers from around the world presenting on multi-modal transportation and policy topics such as: freight rail, passenger rail, commuter rail, high speed rail, transit, bus rapid transit, passenger aviation, air freight, airport financing, freeways, HOV, managed lanes, hot lanes, shadow tolls, steamships, freight carriers, goods movement, inter-coastal canals and waterways, sea ports, inland ports, homeland security, transportation safety, intelligent transportation systems, smart car technology, GPS, GIS, Comprehensive Development Agreements, Private Sector Toll Roads, Public Sector Toll Roads, Regional Mobility Authorities, Public Private Partnerships (P3's), and numerous other creative financing options from leading experts around the world.

Prominent transportation leaders from throughout the country and the world who have been invited to participate include U.S. Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison; U.S. Congressman James Oberstar, Chair of the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee; U.S. Congressman John Mica, Ranking Member of the T&I Committee; Mary Peters, Secretary of Transportation; James Simpson, FTA Administrator; Sean Connaughton, MARAD Administrator (Confirmed); Tom Donahue, President of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce; John Horsley, Executive Director of AASHTO; Alexander Kummant, President and CEO of Amtrak; and many other experts representing all modes of transportation from both the public and private sectors.

For more information, please go to



© 2008 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen