First Quadrennial Convention begins June 17

More than 500 delegates will convene in Las Vegas from June 19-22, 2006, for the First Quadrennial Convention of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen.

The delegates represent more than 53,000 locomotive engineers and trainmen throughout the United States. The delegates are charged with electing the Brotherhood's leaders for the next four years and voting on approximately 50 different resolutions and other changes to the Brotherhood's constitution and bylaws.

The convention is the first for the Brotherhood since 81 percent of members voted to become part of the Rail Conference of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters effective Jan. 1, 2004. To mark the occasion, IBT General President James P. Hoffa will address the delegates during opening ceremonies on June 19.

Other speakers will include: Jennifer Esposito, Minority Staff Director, Transportation & Infrastructure Committee, Railroad Subcommittee, U.S. House of Representatives, who will speak on the morning of June 21; Brenda Cantrell of the National Labor College, George Meany Center, who will give a short hazmat training presentation on the afternoon of June 21; and C. Thomas Keegel, Teamsters General Secretary-Treasurer, who will address the delegates on the morning of June 22.

As a result of the Teamsters merger, the Quadrennial convention, which takes place once every four years, replaces the Quinquennial convention, which was held once very five years.

The convention will take place at Bally's, a prime hotel-casino that offers delegates a central location on the famous Las Vegas Strip. The BLET's sister organization within the Rail Conference - the Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employes Division (BMWED) - will be conducting their National Convention at the same time but at a different hotel-casino complex in Las Vegas.

Delegates will enjoy a joint BLET-Grand International Auxiliary (GIA) reception on the evening of Sunday, June 18, as well as a reception hosted by Designated Legal Counsel after the close of business on Monday, June 19.

Business begins when the convention opens at 9 a.m. on June 19. It runs through Thursday, June 22.

In addition to the keynote address by General President Hoffa, the opening ceremony will include a presentation by BLET National Division President Don M. Hahs and GIA International President Onita Wayland. President Wayland will preside over the BLET's Memorial Plaque dedication ceremony. The plaque honors BLET members that have been killed in the line of duty since 1989.

Also during the opening ceremony, delegates will hear reports from the various convention committees, including the Work Committee, Bylaws Committee, Salaries Committee, and Credentials Committee.

The nominations of National Division officers are expected to take place on the afternoon of June 19, with runoff elections concluding on June 22.



© 2006 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen