Ken Michel reelected Legislative Board Chairman in N.J.

Ken Michel was re-elected to the position of Chairman of the New Jersey State Legislative Board at its Quadrennial Meeting on March 29 at the Newark Sheraton Airport Hotel in Newark, N.J.

The Honorable John Wisniewski, Chairman of the New Jersey Assembly Transportation Committee, spoke to the BLET delegates regarding current transportation issues impacting the state.

Other guests included: John Collins, New York State Legislative Board Chairman; George Newman, Massachusetts State Legislative Board Chairman; and John Tolman, BLET National Division Chief of Staff.

In addition to Chairman Michel, other election results are as follows; Jim Chappelle (Division 53) was elected 1st Vice Chairman; Brian Baginski (Division 157) was elected 2nd Vice Chairman; and Mike Luteran (Division 601) was elected Secretary-Treasurer.

A special presentation was made to Ed Michael, who retired as Secretary-Treasurer after serving the Board for more than 20 years.

Seated, from left: Brian Baginski, 2nd Vice Chairman; Ken Michel, Chairman; Jim Chappelle, 1st Vice Chairman; and Mike Luteran, S-T.

Standing, from left: Robert Stiglic, Div. 497 (PATH); Pat Norton, Div 157; Charlie Larsen, Div. 171 (NJT); Brian Simon, Div. 226 (NS); and Steve Kay, Div 272 (NJT).

Present but not pictured: Dave Hamilton, Div. 235 (CSXT); Bob Daniels, Div. 373 (NJT); Jim Godumski Div. 272 (NJT); John Perri, Div. 387 (CR); and Steve Weiss, Div. 521 (NYS&W).



© 2006 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen