47th community enacts remote control safety resolution

CLEVELAND, December 23 -- Central City, Ill., is the 47th community to enact a remote control safety resolution.

The resolution, enacted on December 15, is similar to the other resolutions enacted by communities throughout the country. It asks the Federal Railroad Administration to issue comprehensive guidelines governing the use of remote control technology.

The BLE?s Illinois State Legislative Board Chairman C.E. Way thanked Brad Pearson, Legislative Representative of BLE Division 94 (Centralia, Ill.), and Kenneth Buchanan, President of the Central City City Council, for their work on the resolution.

In addition to Central City, 33 U.S. cities have adopted similar resolutions: Baton Rouge, La.; Detroit, Mich.; Shreveport, La.; Marysville, Mich.; Boston, Mass.; Cleveland, Ohio; Pine Bluff, Ark.; North Little Rock, Ark.; Beardstown, Ill.; Bakersfield, Calif.; Woodbridge, N.J.; Maple Heights, Ohio; Alliance, Neb.; Evansville, Ind.; Dupo, Ill.; Durand, Mich; Flat Rock, Mich.; Woodhaven, Mich; Flint, Mich.; Sparks, Nev.; Commerce, Calif.; Clinton, Iowa; Montebello, Calif.; Saginaw, Mich.; Mankato, Minn.; Wamac, Ill.; St. Louis, Mo.; River Rouge, Mich.; Melvindale, Mich.; Redford Township, Mich.; Irvington, Ill.; Berwyn, Ill.; and Allen Park, Mich.

Also, 13 counties have passed similar remote control resolutions. They are: Douglas County, Wisc.; West Baton Rouge Parish, La.; Point Coupee Parish, La.; Cuyahoga County, Ohio; Huron County, Ohio; Erie County, Ohio; Whitley County, Ky.; Unicoi County, Tenn.; Contra Costa County, Calif.; Knox County, Tenn.; Clinton, County, Iowa; Harris County, Texas; and Roanoke County, Va.

Ten AFL-CIO state federations have also passed remote control resolutions. They are: Arizona, Texas, Michigan, Nevada, North Carolina, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Wisconsin, Georgia and Illinois.

For a PDF of the resolution, click here:

Tuesday, December 23, 2003


© 1997-2021 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen