Wamac, Ill., enacts remote control safety resolution

CLEVELAND, October 23 -- The city of Wamac, Ill., has joined the ever-growing list of cities and counties enacting resolutions to oppose remote control locomotives within its jurisdiction.

Twenty-five other cities and 11 counties have enacted similar remote control safety resolutions, which call upon the Federal Railroad Administration to develop comprehensive regulations for the use of remote control trains.

The effort to pass the resolution was spearheaded by Brad Pearson, Legislative Representative of BLE Division 24 (Centralia, Ill.). BLE Illinois State Legislative Board Chairman C. Edward Way commended Brother Pearson for his efforts. He also thanked Wamac Mayor Edward McGee and City Clerk Marian Suhl.

The resolution stated that the city of Wamac took this action in order to ensure the public safety of its citizens, and seeks to prohibit railroads from using remote control locomotives to transport hazardous materials.

In addition to Wamac, 25 U.S. cities have adopted similar resolutions: Baton Rouge, La.; Detroit, Mich.; Shreveport, La.; Marysville, Mich.; Boston, Mass.; Cleveland, Ohio; Pine Bluff, Ark.; North Little Rock, Ark.; Beardstown, Ill.; Bakersfield, Calif.; Woodbridge, N.J.; Maple Heights, Ohio; Alliance, Neb.; Evansville, Ind.; Dupo, Ill.; Durand, Mich; Flat Rock, Mich.; Woodhaven, Mich; Flint, Mich.; Sparks, Nev.; Commerce, Calif.; Clinton, Iowa; Montebello, Calif.; Saginaw, Mich.; and Mankato, Minn.

Also, 11 counties have passed similar remote control resolutions. They are: Douglas County, Wisc.; West Baton Rouge Parish, La.; Point Coupee Parish, La.; Cuyahoga County, Ohio; Huron County, Ohio; Erie County, Ohio; Whitley County, Ky.; Unicoi County, Tenn.; Contra Costa County, Calif.; Knox County, Tenn.; and Clinton County, Iowa.

A copy of the Wamac city resolution is available at:

Thursday, October 23, 2003


© 1997-2021 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen