Gabaldon reelected New Mexico SLB Chairman

INDEPENDENCE, Ohio, November 25 — Brother Eric A. Gabaldon was reelected to his second term as Chairman of the New Mexico State Legislative Board at its quadrennial meeting, which was held on October 15, 2020.

Brother Gabaldon is a Burlington Northern Santa Fe (BNSF) locomotive engineer who has held continuous membership in Division 400 (Albuquerque, N.M.) since March 1, 2006. He hired out in 1998 with the BNSF mechanical department before transferring to train/engine service. He earned promotion to locomotive engineer in 2003. Brother Gabaldon is currently in his fourth term as Local Chairman of Division 400 and also serves as its Legislative Representative.

Additional New Mexico SLB officers elected during the quadrennial meeting were: 1st Vice Chairman Clem Harris, Division 15 (Albuquerque, N.M.); 2nd Vice Chairman Gilbert Montiel, Division 446 (Belen, N.M.); Secretary Treasurer Brian Jenne, Division 811 (Clovis, N.M.); and Alternate Secretary-Treasurer Dwayne Tafoya, Division 791 (Belen, N.M.).

Elected to serve as Trustees were: Gilbert Tafoya, Division 791(Belen, N.M.); Clem Harris, Division 15 (Albuquerque, N.M.); and Gilbert Montiel, Division 446 (Belen, N.M.).

Guest speakers included: BLET National President Dennis Pierce; now-retired BLET Vice President and National Legislative Representative John Tolman; current Vice President and National Legislative Representative Vince Verna; BLET Director of Political and Legislative Affairs Bob Hagan; BLET General Chairman Robby Cunningham (BNSF former AT&SF GCA); U.S. Representatives Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), who represents New Mexico’s 3rd Congressional District; and U.S. Representative Xochitl Torres Small (D-NM), who represents New Mexico’s 2nd Congressional District.

“On behalf of the BLET National Division, I congratulate Brother Gabaldon and all officers of the New Mexico State Legislative Board and thank them for their service to our Brotherhood,” President Pierce said.

There were several BLET State Legislative Board Chairman in attendance, including: Dave Brown (Minnesota); Paul Pearson (Colorado); Wayne Denson (Arkansas); Shahraim Allen (Washington); Shane Hubbard (Indiana); Calvin Groose (Missouri); Gary Pedigo (Texas); and Tim Craver (Virginia).

Additional BLET Division officers in attendance included: Charlie Jeffcoat, Legislative Representative of Division 811 (Clovis, N.M.), Jacob Williams, Local Chairman of Division 446 (Belen, N.M.); Greg Guerra, Legislative Representative of Division 264 (El Paso, Texas); Ozzie Murguia, President of Division 15 (Albuquerque, N.M.); Mathew Pachta, President of Division 400 (Albuquerque, N.M.); and Eddie Padilla, Secretary-Treasurer of Division 400 (Albuquerque, N.M.).

The BLET’s New Mexico State Legislative Board represents nearly 600 active and retired members in five different BLET Divisions.

Wednesday, November 25, 2020

© 1997-2021 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen