Denson reelected Arkansas State Legislative Board Chairman

INDEPENDENCE, Ohio, August 20 — Brother D.W. (Wayne) Denson was reelected by acclamation to his second term as Chairman at the Arkansas State Legislative Board’s triennial meeting in North Little Rock, Ark., August 13-14, 2019.

A Union Pacific locomotive engineer, Brother Denson has been a member of BLET Division 182 (North Little Rock, Ark.) since July 1, 2004. He was elected 1st Vice Chairman at the Arkansas State Legislative Board’s triennial meeting in 2016, and was elevated to the office of Chairman following the retirement of Brother Terry Todd in January of 2018.

Also elected by acclamation during the meeting were: 1st Vice Chairman Jeff S. McKenzie, Division 524 (Van Buren, Ark.); 2nd Vice Chairman Norman L. Guitreau, Division 585 (North Little Rock, Ark.); Secretary-Treasurer Earles Carpenter, Division 858 (Pine Bluff, Ark.); and Alternate Secretary-Treasurer Kevin R. Lunnie, Division 278 (North Little Rock, Ark.). The SLB’s Trustees are: Adam Saunders, Division 278 (North Little Rock, Ark.); Kevin R. Lunnie, Division 278 (North Little Rock, Ark.); and Jeff S. McKenzie, Division 524 (Van Buren, Ark.). Brother Carpenter has served the Board as Secretary-Treasurer since 2013.

Representing the BLET National Division at the meeting were: National President Dennis R. Pierce; Vice President and National Legislative Representative John P. Tolman; Director of Regulatory Affairs Vince Verna; and Director of Political and Legislative Affairs Bob Hagan.

“I congratulate and thank Brother Denson and all officers of the Arkansas State Legislative Board,” President Pierce said. “Brother Denson brings a high level of enthusiasm and a desire to serve the membership, which will undoubtedly benefit our Brothers and Sisters in Arkansas. Also, I would like to recognize retired Chairman Terry Todd for his years of dedicated service to our Brotherhood.”

Three BLET General Chairmen were in attendance: Dana Marlow, UP-Southern Region GCA; Jeff Thurman, BNSF (former STL-SF) GCA; and Ronnie Rhodes, UP-Central Region GCA. Four BLET State Legislative Board Chairmen were in attendance: Shahraim Allen, Washington; Calvin Groose, Missouri; Nick Johnson, Arizona; and Gary Pedigo, Texas.

Additional BLET guests included Terry Todd, retired Arkansas State Legislative Board Chairman, and Robert Lyndsey, retired Local Chairman of Division 858. Allan Hughes, Regional President of the Arkansas AFL-CIO, served as a guest speaker. Those in attendance participated in a Legislative Representative training class as well as a Regulatory Affairs workshop.

Brother Denson hired out in 2002 with the Union Pacific at Pine Bluff, Ark.. He joined BLET Division 182 on July 2, 2004, and earned promotion to locomotive engineer in 2005. In 2009, he was elected Vice President of Division 182, and began serving as Vice President and Legislative Representative in 2014. He was reelected to both of those offices in 2018.

The BLET’s Arkansas State Legislative Board represents nearly 900 active and retired members in six Divisions.

Tuesday, August 20, 2019

© 1997-2020 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen