Semenek reelected to third full term as CP Rail General Chairman

INDEPENDENCE, Ohio, July 25 — General Chairman Peter M. Semenek was reelected by acclamation at the CP Rail-U.S./Metra Northern District/Indiana Southern/Dakota Minnesota & Eastern General Committee of Adjustment’s quadrennial meeting in Las Vegas, June 10-11, 2019.

Brother Semenek is a member of BLET Division 790 (Chicago) and he joined the Brotherhood on March 10, 1995. This is his third full term of office, having won election at the GCA’s quadrennial meetings in 2011 and 2015. He began serving as General Chairman on January 1, 2011, following the election of former General Chairman Michael D. Priester to the BLET Advisory Board. Brother Semenek was elected to serve the National Division as Alternate National Vice President No. 4 at the BLET’s Fourth National Convention in 2018.

Also elected during the meeting were: 1st Vice Chairman Nick T. Mugavero, Division 790 (Chicago); 2nd Vice Chairman Joe Rainwater, Division 117 (Mason City, Iowa); 3rd Vice Chairman Kyle E. Donze, Division 294 (Bensenville, Ill.); Secretary-Treasurer Paul M. Dinauer, Division 882 (Milwaukee, Wisc.); and Alternate Secretary-Treasurer Josh McCleary, Division 575 (Chicago).

Delegates also elected the following Brothers to serve as Trustees: Jeremy C. Thorson, Division 160 (Harvey, N.D.); Paul P. Ripplinger, Division 671 (Enderlin, N.D.); and Gordon L. Kepka, Division 357 (Minneapolis, Minn.).

Representing the National Division at the meeting were: Dennis R. Pierce, National President; E. Lee Pruitt, First Vice President; Marcus J. Ruef, National Vice President; and Michael D. Priester, National Vice President.

“I am proud to congratulate Brother Semenek and all officers of the General Committee, and I thank them for their service to our great Brotherhood,” President Pierce said. “I have every confidence they will continue doing an excellent job protecting the rights of our Brothers and Sisters.”

The GCA has more than 1,300 active and retired members and represents locomotive engineers on the Canadian Pacific-U.S. (former Soo Line) and Metra; locomotive engineers, conductors and trainees on the Indiana Southern Railroad; and locomotive engineers and train service employees on the former Dakota, Minnesota & Eastern Railroad.

Thursday, July 25, 2019

© 1997-2019 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen