Quad Cities to Chicago Amtrak service gets green light

(Source: Railway Track & Structures, November 5, 2019)

NEW YORK — The name “Quad Cities” refers to five U.S. cities, three in Illinois and two in Iowa located along the Mississippi River. The Illinois cities are Moline, Rock Island, and East Moline, and the Iowa cities are Davenport and Bettendorf. Although this area includes five cities, not just four, there were only four true cities in the region until the 1970s, when Bettendorf reached a size that qualified it as a city. By this time, however, the name “Quad Cities” had stuck, and this is what the region is called today. The current population of the region is around 400,000.

Full story: Railway Track & Structures

Wednesday, November 6, 2019


© 1997-2020 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen