7061 East Pleasant Valley Road, Independence, Ohio 44131 • (216) 241-2630 / Fax: (216) 241-6516

News and Issues
User Info

BLET legislative chairmen conclude 44th annual meeting

INDEPENDENCE, Ohio, April 10 ó Members of the BLETís National Association of State Legislative Board Chairmen (NASLBC) concluded their 44th annual meeting on March 27, 2019, in San Diego, Calif.

The NASLBC has met annually since 1975 to hear from each State Chairman about railroad related safety and health issues as well as their state''s political climate.

Members elected the following officers to lead the NASLBC for the next three years: Chairman Paul Piekarski (Illinois State Legislative Board Chairman); Vice Chairman Nick Johnson (Arizona SLBC); Secretary-Treasurer Dave Dinges (Maryland SLBC);. The following Regional Chairmen were also elected: Region 1 Herbert Harris (District of Columbia SLBC); Region 2 M.D. Frank (Alabama SLBC); Region 3 David Brown (Minnesota SLBC); and Region 4 Cory Runion (Wyoming SLBC).

Several new State Legislative Board Chairmen were seated for their first NASLBC meeting, including: Brendan Sullivan (Florida SLBC); Shane Hubbard (Indiana SLBC); Calvin Groose (Missouri SLBC); Lanie Keith (Mississippi SLBC); Tim Laveing (Pennsylvania SLBC): and Jeff Rich (Tennessee SLBC).

BLET National President Dennis R. Pierce, First Vice National President E. Lee Pruitt, National Secretary-Treasurer Stephen J. Bruno, and Vice President & National Legislative Representative John P. Tolman were in attendance and addressed the NASLBC members and guests. President Pierce thanked the Chairmen for their service to the Brotherhood and discussed a number of issues, including efforts on the state and national levels to secure two-person crew laws.

Also, BLET Director of Regulatory Affairs Vince Verna and BLET Director of Political and Legislative Affairs Bob Hagan both made presentations on behalf of the National Division. Kat Bisbikis, BLET Auxiliary National President, and Jessica Cole, BLET Auxiliary National Second Vice President and National Legislative Representative, also addressed the group.

Guest speakers included: Rich Connor of the Federal Railroad Administration, who discussed Hours of Service regulations; and Bob Apriacio of the National Association of Retired and Veteran Railway Employees (NARVRE), who discussed the groupís advocacy in assisting all active and retired railroad employees in support of Railroad Retirement.

The various committees of the Association also met and conducted their business for the year. The group will re-convene in 2020 for their 45th annual convention, which will be held in Austin, Texas.

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Like us on Facebook at

Sign up for BLET News Flash Alerts

© 1997-2019 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen


Decertification Helpline
(216) 694-0240

Sign up for BLET
News Flash Alerts


AAR reports rail traffic for the week ending April 13, 2019
Union Pacific reports Q1 2019 results
Kansas City Southernís Q1 2019 net profit jumped 16 percent
PTC: Fifty years later, a lifesaving technology that could have saved over 300 lives inches toward completion
California port truck drivers awarded over $1.2 million for wage theft
Union Pacific VP Rynaski sells $1.496 million in company stock
Metra to start building 2 new Chicago stations after getting state funds
Transport Canada announces funding for rail safety improvements
Amtrak supporters appeal for funding for Hoosier State line
Q&A: Comparison of benefits under Railroad Retirement and Social Security
Get the latest labor news from the Teamsters

More Headlines