7061 East Pleasant Valley Road, Independence, Ohio 44131 • (216) 241-2630 / Fax: (216) 241-6516

News and Issues
User Info

Trumble elected to second term as Michigan State Legislative Board Chairman

INDEPENDENCE, Ohio, April 20 — B.J. Trumble was reelected by acclamation to his second term as Chairman of the Michigan State Legislative Board at the Board’s Fourth Quadrennial meeting in Lansing, Mich., March 19-20, 2018.

A CN/Grand Trunk Western locomotive engineer, Brother Trumble is a member of BLET Division 33 in Battle Creek, Mich. He has held continuous membership in the Brotherhood since July 1, 1997. Brother Trumble was elected 1st Vice Chairman at the Board’s Second Quadrennial meeting in 2010, and moved up to Chairman following the retirement of Gregory D. Powell, the Board’s founding Chairman, on August 1, 2012. Brother Trumble was reelected by acclamation to his first full term at the Board’s Third Quadrennial meeting in March of 2014.

Also reelected by acclamation during the meeting was Andy J. Goulet of BLET Division 304 (Saginaw, Mich.), who will serve as 1st Vice Chairman and Secretary-Treasurer. Brother Goulet has served the Board as Secretary-Treasurer continuously since he was first elected in 2006. He was also elected 2nd Vice Chairman in 2010 and 2014, moving up to the 1st Vice Chairman’s position each time to fill vacancies on the Board.

Elected to serve as 2nd Vice Chairman was Ryan M. Morris of BLET Division 2 (Jackson, Mich.). Dave P. Morgan of BLET Division 19 (Detroit, Mich.) was elected to serve as Alternate Secretary-Treasurer. The Auditing Committee members are: Ed Donnelly, Division 542 (Detroit, Mich.); Chris King, Division 831 (Detroit, Mich.); and Matt Lashley, Division 122 (Port Huron, Mich.).

Representing the BLET National Division at the meeting was National President Dennis R. Pierce; First Vice President E. Lee Pruitt; Vice President and National Legislative Representative John P. Tolman; and BLET Director of Political and Legislative Affairs Robert F. Hagan.

“I am proud to congratulate Brother Trumble and all officers and members of the Michigan State Legislative Board,” President Pierce said. “I thank them all for their willingness to serve our Brotherhood and have every confidence they will do an excellent job of representing our members in the proud state of Michigan.”

Three fellow BLET State Legislative Board Chairmen were also in attendance: Paul S. Piekarski, Illinois; David K. Brown, Minnesota; and Chuck M. Schulz, Wisconsin. William H. Black, Legislative and Community Affairs Director of Michigan Teamsters Joint Council 43, also was in attendance and addressed the group.

The Michigan State Legislative Board was founded on February 28, 2002. It represents more than 1,000 active and retired members from 14 different BLET Divisions.

Friday, April 20, 2018

Like us on Facebook at

Sign up for BLET News Flash Alerts

© 1997-2018 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen


Decertification Helpline
(216) 694-0240

ND Officers Election Rules

Sign up for BLET
News Flash Alerts


CSX announces record Q3 2018 financial results
CSX profit tops Wall Street estimate in Q3 2018
Report: Trump Administration shelves coal plan
California high-speed rail approves local plan for connecting Bakersfield and Fresno
NS continues Hurricane Michael recovery efforts
Metra PTC project prompts Rock Island schedule changes
RRB Q&A: Dual benefit payments
Get the latest labor news from the Teamsters

More Headlines