7061 East Pleasant Valley Road, Independence, Ohio 44131 • (216) 241-2630 / Fax: (216) 241-6516

News and Issues
User Info

Pierce reelected CRLO Chairman

INDEPENDENCE, Ohio, November 5 — BLET National President Dennis R. Pierce was reelected by acclamation as Chairman of the Cooperating Railway Labor Organizations (CRLO) during October 28’s CRLO business meeting. The CRLO is a group of 12 Rail Labor unions that sit together to oversee the collectively bargained health and welfare benefits contained within the National Agreements, on behalf of railroad members.

TCU/IAM National President Arthur P. Maratea and American Train Dispatchers Association (ATDA) President F. Leo McCann also were reelected by acclamation to serve the CRLO as Vice-Chairman and Secretary-Treasurer, respectively. “I am proud to continue working alongside Brothers Maratea and McCann, as well as all other members of the CRLO. I will do my utmost to preserve, protect and expand the health care benefits enjoyed by railroad workers,” President Pierce said.

Also reelected to another 3-year term as National Railroad Retirement Investment Trust (NRRIT) Trustee is retired BLET member William C. Walpert. Brother Walpert served for decades as a BLET officer, retiring in 2014 after more than 13 years as the Brotherhood’s Chief Financial Officer.

The CRLO administers the health and welfare plans that are negotiated by the participating organizations in all national negotiations over matters pertaining or related to health and welfare benefit issues. It was founded so that Rail Labor could work together collectively to achieve better health and welfare benefits, rather than each union bargaining individually. According to the Preamble of the CRLO Bylaws: “We, the several organizations of railroad employees, recogniz[e] that through united action the interests of railroad employees are strengthened and are better advanced though coordinated policy and cooperation on all matters of mutual interest; and that such united action is particularly essential in the area of health and welfare benefits for our members....”

The 12 unions that make up the CRLO are: American Train Dispatchers Association (ATDA); Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen (BLET); Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employes Division (BMWED); Brotherhood of Railroad Signalmen (BRS); International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAM); International Brotherhood of Boilermakers, Iron Shipbuilders, Blacksmiths, Forgers and Helpers (IBB); International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW); National Conference of Firemen & Oilers/SEIU (NCFO/SEIU); SMART Mechanical Department (SMART MD); SMART Transportation Division (SMART TD); Transport Workers Union (TWU); and Transportation Communications Union/IAM (TCU/IAM).

Friday, November 5, 2021

Like us on Facebook at

Sign up for BLET News Flash Alerts

© 1997-2021 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen


Decertification Helpline
(216) 694-0240

National Negotiations

ND Officers Election Rules

Sign up for BLET
News Flash Alerts


New study says railroads could save $94 billion in two decades by converting to batteries
Hoffa: Don’t blame workers for delivery delays this season
NS train blocks crossings in Alabama for 9 days
STB establishes new class exemption for emergency temporary trackage rights
Group seeks funds to study congestion relief along Cleveland-Chicago rail route
Via Rail showcases first Siemens test train
CN exec discussed B.C. flooding issues
AAR reports rail traffic for week ending November 20, 2021
State appeals court rejects long-standing challenge to California bullet train
Medicare Part B Premiums for 2022
COVID-19 vaccine mandates and Unemployment and Sickness Benefits under the Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act (RUIA)
Get the latest labor news from the Teamsters

More Headlines