7061 East Pleasant Valley Road, Independence, Ohio 44131 • (216) 241-2630 / Fax: (216) 241-6516

News and Issues
User Info

Amtrak General Chairman Mark Kenny reelected by acclamation

INDEPENDENCE, Ohio, May 25 — Mark B. Kenny was reelected by acclamation to his seventh term as General Chairman at the Amtrak General Committee of Adjustment’s fifth quadrennial meeting, which was held May 19-20, 2021.

Brother Kenny is a member of Division 11 (New York, N.Y.). He joined the Brotherhood on March 1, 1981, and has served as General Chairman since 1998, having also won reelection by acclamation in 2009, 2013, and 2017. Brother Kenny also serves as Chairman of the BLET’s National General Chairmen’s Association.

All other officers of the General Committee were also elected by acclamation, including: Vice General Chairman and Secretary-Treasurer David P. Estes, Division 60 (Seattle, Wash.); Western Region Chairman John M. McGregor, Division 192 (El Paso, Texas); Midwest Region Chairman Gabriel L. Perez, Division 474 (Chicago, Ill.); Eastern Region Chairman James J. O’Neill, Division 483 (Philadelphia, Pa.); and Alternate Secretary-Treasurer Patrick W. Darcy, Division 77 (New Haven, Conn.). Brother Estes was reelected to his fifth term as Secretary-Treasurer and second term as Vice General Chairman. Brothers McGregor, Perez, and O''''Neill were appointed to the GCA audit committee to serve as Trustees.

Appointed to serve on the Bylaws & Finance Committee were: C.M. Skinner, Division 20 (Los Angeles, Calif.); S.E. Ahmed, Division 35 (Jacksonville, Fla); and D.D. Lewsader, Division 47 (Denver, Colo.). Brother Ahmed was chosen to serve as Chair of the Committee.

BLET National President Dennis R. Pierce represented the National Division at the meeting, along with Vince G. Verna, Vice President and National Legislative Representative, and James P. Louis, National Vice President. National Division staff members Thomas A. Pontolillo, Assistant to the National President and Director of Research, Robert F. Hagan, Director of Political and Legislative Affairs, and Matt C. Kronyak, Special Representative and Director of Mobilization–Eastern Region, were also in attendance.

“I offer my congratulations to these officers on their election and my sincere thanks for their continued service to our great Brotherhood,” President Pierce said. “I have every confidence they will continue doing an excellent job of representing the membership. Brother Kenny is one of our most veteran General Chairman and I thank him for his ongoing dedication to our Brotherhood.”

Local Chairmen (unless otherwise noted) in attendance included: R.S. McGovern, Division 11 (New York); R.M. Grogan, Division 12 (Fort Wayne, Ind.); A.L. Robertson, Division 14 (Washington, D.C.); Vice Local Chairman J. Wooldridge, Division 14 (Washington, D.C.); C.E. Harris, Division 15 (Albuquerque, N.M.); B. Porter, Division 17 (Kansas City); J.B. Lacy, Division 18 (New Orleans, LA); E.R. Like, Division 19 (Detroit, Mich.); C.M. Skinner, Division 20 (Los Angeles); C.A. Roehrich, Division 27 (St. Cloud, Minn.); S.E. Ahmed, Division 35 (Jacksonville, Fla.); D.J. Terdich, Division 40 (Chicago); B.J. Cleary, Division 45 (Carbondale, Ill.); D.D. Lewsader, Division 47 (Denver, Colo.); R.A. Reeder, Division 51 (Salt Lake City, Utah); G.T. Hobson, Division 57 (Boston, Mass.); D.P. Estes, Division 60 (Seattle); J.D. Coleman, Division 65 (San Jose, Calif.); P.W. Darcy Jr., Division 77 (New Haven, Conn.); J.K. Loger, Division 144 (Oakland, Calif.); J.M. McGregor, Division 192 (El Paso, Texas); M.P. Mitchell, Division 197 (San Antonio, Texas); D.J. Luna, Division 312 (Boston); G.L. Perez, Division 474 (Blue Island, Ill.); W.F. Broadus, Division 482 (Washington, D.C.); J.J. O’Neill, Division 483 (Philadelphia); and S. Crossman, Division 752 (Rensselaer, N.Y.).

General Chairman Kenny thanked the National Division officers for attending. Brother Kenny also thanked the Amtrak delegates for their utmost hard work through the extended COVID-19 pandemic and focus throughout the quadrennial meeting.

The BLET’s Amtrak General Committee of Adjustment represents more than 2,300 active and retired locomotive engineers and trainmen who work for Amtrak, Keolis Commuter Services, Keolis Rail Services Virginia, and TransitAmerica Services, Inc. (Caltrain).

Tuesday, May 25, 2021

Like us on Facebook at

Sign up for BLET News Flash Alerts

© 1997-2021 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen


Decertification Helpline
(216) 694-0240

National Negotiations

Sign up for BLET
News Flash Alerts


CP deal to buy KCS could close by next fall; shareholders vote in December
“It’s been a battle:” CP on track to create first North American railway network in hard-fought deal
CP-KCS: The particulars
AAR reports rail traffic for week ending September 11, 2021
BNSF faces fines, other penalties for Washington oil train derailment
Downed wires bring major delays on Amtrak, NJ Transit lines
Train service halted as workers shore up California cliffs
RRB advises rail workers and retirees impacted by Hurricane Ida
Q&A: RRB deemed service month credits
Get the latest labor news from the Teamsters

More Headlines