7061 East Pleasant Valley Road, Independence, Ohio 44131 • (216) 241-2630 / Fax: (216) 241-6516

News and Issues
User Info

26 BLET families win Hoffa scholarships for 2020-21 school year, including five $10,000 winners

INDEPENDENCE, Ohio, August 24 — Twenty-six BLET families have been awarded scholarships by the James R. Hoffa Memorial Scholarship Fund for the 2020-21 school year, including five $10,000 scholarship winners. The $10,000 awards are the highest honor bestowed by the Hoffa Scholarship Fund.

There were five scholarships awarded in the $10,000 category:
• Kaedon D. Tuomela, son of Chad R. Tuomela of BLET Division 94 (Gillette, Wyo.), a BNSF locomotive engineer;
• Meadow S. Torres, daughter of Paul J. Torres of BLET Division 180 (Glendive, Mont.), a BNSF locomotive engineer;
• Austin J. Bridenbaugh, son of Grant D. Bridenbaugh of BLET Division 287 (Altoona, Pa.), a Norfolk Southern (NS) locomotive engineer;
• Eiley E. Kuhlmey, daughter of Scott A. Kuhlmey of BLET Division 290 (Superior, Wisc.), a BNSF brakeman; and
• Jordan R. Dudas, daughter of Carl V. Schmidt of BLET Division 521 (Hawthorne, N.J.), a Connecticut Southern trainman.

There were 18 scholarships awarded in the $1,000 category:
• Daniel R. Braile, son of Hugo D. Braile of BLET Division 11 (New York, N.Y.), an Amtrak locomotive engineer;
• Andrew P. Cardone, son of Peter Cardone of BLET Division 269 (Long Island, N.Y.), a Long Island Rail Road (LIRR) locomotive engineer;
• Phylicia Childs, daughter of Elaine J. Childs of BLET Division 482 (Washington, D.C.), an Amtrak locomotive engineer;
• Jaime A. DiChiara, daughter of D. DiChiara of BLET Division 269 (Long Island, N.Y.), a LIRR locomotive engineer;
• Jared A. Gobin, son of Gregory A. Gobin of BLET Division 246 (Evansville, Ind.), a CSX locomotive engineer;
• Bethany C. Guerra, daughter of Frank J. Guerra of BLET Division 197 (San Antonio, Texas), a Union Pacific (UP) locomotive engineer;
• Madelyn E. Harris, daughter of Mark R. Harris of BLET Division 4 (Toledo, Ohio), a NS locomotive engineer;
• Emmanuel A. Hayes, son of Carlos A. Hayes of BLET Division 156 (Birmingham, Ala.), a CSX locomotive engineer;
• Dylan C. Hiser, son of Evan C. Hiser of BLET Division 98 (Lincoln, Neb.), a BNSF locomotive engineer;
• Hunter D. Hoatson, son of Shawn D. Hoatson of BLET Division 388 (North Platte, Neb.), a UP locomotive engineer;
• Olivia M. King, daughter of Richard E. King of BLET Division 392 (Havre, Mont.), a BNSF/MRL locomotive engineer;
• Isabella M. Kudyba, daughter of Kevin A. Kudyba of BLET Division 335 (Elrama, Pa.), a NS locomotive engineer;
• Casimira M. Lopez, daughter of Gerald V. Lopez of BLET Division 269 (Long Island, N.Y.), a LIRR locomotive engineer;
• J’Cee Faith Petty, daughter of J. C. Petty of BLET Division 592 (Dalhart, Texas), a UP locomotive engineer;
• Olivia Propeck, daughter of Michael J. Propeck of BLET Division 202 (Dilworth, Minn.), a BNSF locomotive engineer;
• Sage A. Stevens, daughter of Warren Stevens of BLET Division 197 (San Antonio, Texas), a UP locomotive engineer;
• Dacey L. Turner, daughter of Timothy E. Whitworth of BLET Division 178 (Carthage, Mo.), a Missouri & Northern Arkansas locomotive engineer; and
• Joshua M. Young, son of Troy M. Young of BLET Division 587 (Salina, Kan.), a UP locomotive engineer.

There also were three vocational scholarships awarded, ranging up to $2,000:
• Malorie Barkman, daughter of Darren T. Barkman of BLET Division 303 (Morrill, Neb.), a UP locomotive engineer; and
• Trey D. Potter, son of Eric W. Potter of BLET Division 120 (Kansas City, Mo.), a NS locomotive engineer;
• Ava M. Walker, daughter of Phillip D. Walker of BLET Division 934 (Cumberland, Md.), a CSX locomotive engineer.

About the scholarships
The James R. Hoffa Memorial Scholarship Fund offers college and vocational scholarships to the sons, daughters and financial dependents of Teamster members (including the BLET, BMWED, GCC and TCRC). Academic scholarships range from $1,000 to $10,000 for high school seniors who plan to attend a four-year college or university. The training/vocational program provides awards of up to $2,000 for use at community colleges and trade schools. The application process for 2021 will begin in November 2020, and the deadline each year is typically in early March. For more information, please visit the James R. Hoffa Memorial Scholarship Fund website (www.jrhmsf.org).

Monday, August 24, 2020

Like us on Facebook at

Sign up for BLET News Flash Alerts

© 1997-2020 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen


Decertification Helpline
(216) 694-0240

National Negotiations

Sign up for BLET
News Flash Alerts


Norfolk Southern reports third-quarter 2020 results
CP failed to identify hazards linked to deadly derailment, Transport Canada finds
Transport Canada failed to follow up on dangerous goods violations: report
Rail blockade ends in Chihuahua, Mexico
NJ Transit has landmark $11 billion budget
Bonding bill snub holds up second Amtrak train between St. Paul and Chicago
Las Vegas high-speed rail project, rebranded Brightline West, reveals details on construction plans
Superior official says BNSF will resume payments to homeowners near taconite facility
West Memphis readies campaign to bring jobs to 1,800-acre megasite
Railroad Unemployment and Sickness Benefits will see slight decrease in new sequestration reduction rate
Get the latest labor news from the Teamsters

More Headlines