7061 East Pleasant Valley Road, Independence, Ohio 44131 • (216) 241-2630 / Fax: (216) 241-6516

News and Issues
User Info

Pierce elected Chairman of CRLO

INDEPENDENCE, Ohio, August 4 — BLET National President Dennis R. Pierce has been elected Chairman of the Cooperating Railway Labor Organizations (CRLO) following the retirement of long-serving Chairman Robert A. Scardelletti. His election became effective on August 1, 2020. The CRLO is a group of 12 Rail Labor unions that sit together to oversee the collectively bargained health and welfare benefits contained within the National Agreements, on behalf of railroad members.

President Scardelletti, who served as Chairman of the CRLO for 19 years, retired effective July 31, 2020. He also served for 29 years as President of the Transportation Communications Union/International Association of Machinists (TCU/IAM).

Also effective August 1, new TCU/IAM National President Arthur P. Maratea was elected to serve the CRLO as Vice-Chairman. Brother Maratea was elected President of the TCU/IAM following the announcement of Brother Scardelletti’s retirement. The American Train Dispatchers Association (ATDA) President F. Leo McCann will continue to serve the CRLO as Secretary-Treasurer.

“I am humbled and grateful to serve as Chairman of the CRLO, and am particularly proud to work alongside Brothers Maratea and McCann. I will do my utmost to preserve and protect the health care benefits enjoyed by railroad workers,” President Pierce said. “I would also like to thank President Scardelletti for his 19 years of leadership as CRLO Chairman and I extend my best wishes for a long, happy and healthy retirement.”

President Pierce appointed Brother A. Dan Cook, III, the BLET’s Director of Benefits, to serve as the CRLO Administrator. President Pierce also thanked Ellen Conboy for her many years of service as CRLO Administrator. “Bob and Ellen both worked very hard for all railroad workers. They both leave big shoes to fill.”

The 12 unions that make up the CRLO are: American Train Dispatchers Association (ATDA); Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen (BLET); Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employes Division (BMWED); Brotherhood of Railroad Signalmen (BRS); International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAM); International Brotherhood of Boilermakers, Iron Shipbuilders, Blacksmiths, Forgers and Helpers (IBB); International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW); National Conference of Firemen & Oilers/SEIU (NCFO/SEIU); SMART Mechanical Department (SMART MD); SMART Transportation Division (SMART TD); Transport Workers Union (TWU); and Transportation Communications Union/IAM (TCU/IAM).

Tuesday, August 4, 2020

Like us on Facebook at

Sign up for BLET News Flash Alerts

© 1997-2020 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen


Decertification Helpline
(216) 694-0240

National Negotiations

Sign up for BLET
News Flash Alerts


Updated HEROES Act provides the financial lifeline transportation workers need and deserve
Democrats propose billions for airlines, transit in virus relief bill
STB rejects Metra’s request for declaratory order in dispute with UP
NJ Transit on track to complete PTC four years after deadly Hoboken crash
Grant to help pay for work along Southwest Chief route
Economy starting to pick up, says incoming CEO of BNSF Railway
CP Holiday Train won’t roll across Canada this year due to pandemic
Transit advocates call on SEPTA to reform regional rail
Q&A: RRB financial reports
Get the latest labor news from the Teamsters

More Headlines