7061 East Pleasant Valley Road, Independence, Ohio 44131 • (216) 241-2630 / Fax: (216) 241-6516

News and Issues
User Info

Walker elected Iowa State Legislative Board Chairman

INDEPENDENCE, Ohio, July 10 — Michael G. Walker was elected Chairman of the Iowa State Legislative Board at its quadrennial meeting in Coralville, Iowa, on June 25, 2020.

A BNSF locomotive engineer, Brother Walker hired out on November 22, 2004. He became a conductor in May 2005 and earned promotion to locomotive engineer in January of 2007. Brother Walker is a member of BLET Division 642 (Creston, Iowa), and he has held continuous membership in the BLET since April 1, 2005. He serves as Division 642’s Legislative Representative. Brother Walker was elected to the office of 1st Vice Chairman at the Iowa State Legislative Board’s 2016 convention, and prior to that, had served the Iowa SLB in a variety of other capacities, including Alternate Secretary-Treasurer and 3rd Vice Chairman.

Elected by acclamation during the 2020 quadrennial meeting were: 1st Vice Chairman Ross M. Grooters, Division 778 (Des Moines, Iowa); 2nd Vice Chairman Matt J. Delay, Division 6 (Boone, Iowa); 3rd Vice Chairman Kade T. Harl, Division 391 (Fort Madison, Iowa); Secretary-Treasurer Tony L. Smith, Division 6 (Boone, Iowa); and Alternate Secretary-Treasurer Tulane A. McAuliffe, Division 125 (Clinton, Iowa).

Appointed to serve as Trustees were: Darren G. Krug, Division 114 (Waterloo, Iowa); Joe M. Japel, Division 687 (Sioux City, Iowa); and Nick R. Hollar, Division 117 (Mason City, Iowa). Also, Brian P. Gruntmeir of Division 391 (Fort Madison, Iowa), was appointed to serve the Board as Education Coordinator.

Brother Walker said there were no guests at the meeting due to the COVID-19 pandemic. He also said that those in attendance practiced social distancing and followed CDC guidelines throughout the meeting.

BLET National President Dennis R. Pierce congratulated Chairman Walker and all officers of the Iowa State Legislative Board.

“I thank the Brothers and Sisters of the Iowa State Legislative Board for their dedication to our Brotherhood and for making the effort to hold their quadrennial meeting during these difficult times,” President Pierce said. “I also thank Brother Kent Hanson for his service as Chairman.”

Brother Walker also said that long-serving Iowa SLB 2nd Vice Chairman Dan L. Christensen did not seek reelection due to his pending retirement. He said Christensen served Division 114 (Waterloo, Iowa) as a Legislative Representative since 1999 and has held numerous positions with the Iowa State Legislative Board over the years, including 1st and 2nd Vice Chairman. Brother Christensen will have 42 years of service when he retires from the CN.

The BLET’s Iowa State Legislative Board represents nearly 1,000 active members from 11 different Local Divisions.

Friday, July 10, 2020

Like us on Facebook at

Sign up for BLET News Flash Alerts

© 1997-2020 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen


Decertification Helpline
(216) 694-0240

National Negotiations

Sign up for BLET
News Flash Alerts


AAR reports rail traffic for week ending September 12, 2020
Amtrak OIG report: Amtrak has improved, but more needs to be done to cut service disruptions
NS monitors Hurricane Sally remnants
Houston residents pursue wrongful death lawsuit against Union Pacific where cancer cluster identified
Politicians, rail experts back passenger rail for southern Montana
After 50 years, BNSF suspends property reimbursements to Wisconsin residents
Q&A: RRB financial reports
Get the latest labor news from the Teamsters

More Headlines